Lace Earrings

I love to give gifts. More specifically, I love to give gifts that I have made. On our limited budget, it is usually a  challenge to come up with something thoughtful and unique for all of the many gift-giving occasions that arise throughout the year so I am always looking for new, creative ideas to show our friends and family how much we love them. In case you ever have a similar challenge, I am starting a new weekly feature on this site that will teach you how to make a handmade gift for under $10.

Today, I’m featuring the first of these tutorials, a pair of handmade, lace earrings. I cannot take credit for the original idea for these- they were a gift from my dear sister-in-law for Christmas this year. She gave each of her sisters a different pair and I LOVE mine. They are delicate and pretty, dangly without being heavy and can be made out of new or upcycled lace or doilies. She made mine out of an lace collar that she found at Goodwill.

Aren’t they cute?

Anyway, thanks to Liesel for allowing me to share her great idea with you here!

What you will need:

Elmer’s School Glue (I had mine on hand but you can pick some up for around $2)

Lace or a Doily- upcycled or new (I looked at Goodwill and couldn’t find anything useful so I picked up a roll of decorative trim at Hobby Lobby. It was on sale for 50% off so it only cost $2.50 and could make dozens of earrings!)

Earring Wires (Micheals- $2.99 for 30 pairs)

Small scissors

A dish and some foil

A needle and thread to match your lace

Step 1: Use your foil to line your dish, pour in some glue and add a little water to it to make the glue runnier. I did not add that whole tablespoon… just add a drop or two at a time and then stir with your finger.

Step 2: Cut a small section of your lace and dip the entire thing in your watered down glue mixture.

Step 3: Once you’ve coated the whole piece with glue, use your fingers to gently press out as much of the excess as you can. This will help it dry faster and make sure that you don’t end up with a gluey film where there should be an open hole in your lace.

Step 4: Allow to dry on a non-stick surface (I used wax paper), flipping once to make sure both sides are completely dry. It will then be stiff.

Step 5: Then, carefully cut out the shape that you want to use and sew on your earring wire!

*Note: You could also add beads with jump rings off the bottom of the earrings for some sparkle or extra personality. Attach the earrings to small card or slip them inside a greeting card to give as a gift.

Enjoy!

Elise

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Tutorials

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

7 Comments on “Lace Earrings”

  1. april
    February 5, 2012 at 4:38 am #

    I love these earrings! I would totally wear them! I hope you will link up wih me here:
    http://www.thegingerbreadblog.com/2012/02/sweet-saturday-link-party-v25.html

  2. February 5, 2012 at 12:18 pm #

    Those look fabulous! Thanks for the tutorial, definitely going to try this out!

  3. February 6, 2012 at 2:02 am #

    So pretty! What a great idea! I found you through Flamingo Toes. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  4. February 6, 2012 at 11:38 am #

    These are beautiful!

  5. February 10, 2012 at 3:47 pm #

    I LOVE this idea! -Amber

  6. February 11, 2012 at 2:07 am #

    Saw these from your feature at Gingerbread…they are darling!

Leave a Reply

