What I love about you- a gift idea

This week, my less than $10 gift ideas are all Valentine’s Day related- and they’re also pretty easy so there’s still time to make them up before the 14th if you’re still needing a gift for someone special!

I always find it hard to think of good Valentine’s gifts for my husband… Hallmark seems to have focused much of this holiday on women and everyone can think of flowers and chocolate for girls but it’s harder when it comes to guys. Anyway, when we were engaged, Valentine’s Day fell just a few months before our wedding and on the 13th, I still hadn’t come up with a good gift idea. I’m pretty sure one of my girlfriends in architecture school recommended this idea…

A book containing 100 things I love about Zach that also doubled as a countdown calendar to our wedding. Now, this could be made as a simple “100 things I love about you” ย (or any number) but we were almost 100 days away from the wedding and so I added the countdown element so that he could be reminded of something different every day. Remember, this was the day before Valentines- while I was in class probably- that I thought of this idea so I immediately started making my list. If you’re going for 100 things- be specific! “You’re a good boyfriend/husband/dad/mom/etc.” works but the more specific ย you can be, the more items you’ll be able to come up with and the more meaningful the sentiment will be.

After class, I ran to the local art supply shop and picked up a 100 page small, spiral bound sketchbook. Then I pulled out my markers, a calendar, and some cardstock scraps and started writing and making layouts with a colorful piece of paper or two. I printed off a few wallet sized pictures as well and used them scattered throughout the book.

So, you will need:

A small notebook/sketchbook with at least as many pages as things you want to list. (You can also use the back of each page don’t forget)

Some colorful paper scraps

A few photos

Some markers, scissors, and a gluestick or scrapbook adhesive

The only thing I spent money on was the book so you can spend as much or as little as ย you want but should be able to find something for under $10! ๐Ÿ™‚

Here are a few of the page layouts that I used… and yes, I repeated them many times!

The book ended up being thick enough that it stands by itself! It now resides on the nightstand in our room… and I flip to different pages every once in a while. It’s fun to look back on and see all the things I wrote 4 years ago too. I have a lot of things I could add since then. ๐Ÿ™‚

***Bonus*** My mom had a similar idea a year or two ago and made a sweet little “What I love about you” mini album for each of us kids that we got with our cookies in the mail. I snapped a few photos of it for your inspiration if you want to go that route!

She started with a mini chip board album from Archivers. She painted the edges of the book with acrylic craft paint and then used scrapbook adhesive to cover each page with Valentines themed scrapbook paper. She used a heart punch to make the hearts that you see throughout and adhered a ribbon to the front around to the back of the book so it can be tied closed.

Well, I hope that this gives you a little inspiration for an inexpensive but really special gift to give to someone you love!

Love,

Elise

Tags: , ,

Categories: Tutorials

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “What I love about you- a gift idea”

  1. Lisa
    February 7, 2012 at 3:27 pm #

    Again, LOVE your blog!! What great ideas! Your mom is so creative too! ๐Ÿ™‚ Love that your mom made the whole day special. This really hit me because it has reminded me how special it makes you feel when your mom loves you. I show Kane a lot more love than Aden because he’s not home with me all day driving me crazy! ๐Ÿ™‚ Ha! Especially with moving and being distracted, I have been very short with Aden. I am totally using this idea to remind him how much he is loved and that I’m so thankful he is a part of our family. Kane and I found our love notes to each other from the past 20 years. It is so much fun to reread together! Thanks again Elise!

    • February 8, 2012 at 1:38 pm #

      Lisa,
      I went to push “Like” on your comment… realized that this isn’t facebook. ๐Ÿ™‚ But, I’m glad my story could inspire you! Hope your moving process is going well! -Elise

Leave a Reply

