Something I love: Quilting Edition

This blog is pretty new and so, as a way for readers to get to know me a little better, I’ve planned a series of posts highlighting different things that I love. This is the first of those posts and will focus on, yep, you guessed it! Quilts.

There are a lot of things to love about handmade quilts- their weight (duvets make me way too hot!), their colorfulness, their individuality (no 2 are ever exactly the same!) and of course, the love that goes into making one. I grew up sleeping under quilts… my mom has been quilting for longer than I’ve been alive. In fact, she hand-quilted my very first quilt:

The  first quilt that I ever made was a doll sized patchwork quilt out of 2-3″ squares of Christmas fabrics when I was  a kid. My sister and I each made one and we carefully, painstakingly, hand pieced the whole thing. I still remember the feeling of accomplishment that accompanied that quilt’s completion… a feeling that I still get when I finish one today!

I didn’t make another quilt until years later- the first year that we were married. One of Zach’s cousins was pregnant with her first baby and I decided to try to make a simple baby quilt for him. This is only picture I still have of it (and it’s not even completed here… just laid out on our living room floor in our first apartment!)

but I quickly fell in love with it again and proceeded to design and make this one for Zach’s Christmas gift:

Can you tell where we went to school?

Since then, I’ve completed 3 more quilts (one as a gift for my sister-in-law on her wedding) and have 2 tops that are ready to be quilted and have blocks started for a third. I think it’s safe to say that I’m at least minorly addicted!

I still have a ton to learn and am really thankful that my mom and aunt are both avid quilters. They are really prolific! Maybe someday I’ll be as quick as them but until then, I’m content to just keep practicing and making more quilts.

The first Queen sized quilt that I made!

A quilt that I made to go in our living room. It's a great size for curling up on the couch.

If you’ve never considered trying to quilt, I’m an advocate that you should. It’s a really fun and rewarding hobby and you can make a lot more than just blankets! Come back tomorrow and I’ll share a tutorial on how to make a simple quilted project. Who knows, maybe you’ll be inspired to try it and become addicted yourself! 😉

Until tomorrow,

Elise

Tags: , , ,

Categories: About Me

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “Something I love: Quilting Edition”

  1. March 2, 2012 at 8:00 pm #

    I LOVE your living room quilt!! Did you design it or is there a pattern? I would love to make one. What a beautiful job you did!!

    • March 2, 2012 at 9:47 pm #

      Thank you! I saw the block idea at a local quilt shop and then just figured out how to it myself. The flower blocks in between were from a panel.

  2. March 3, 2012 at 6:36 pm #

    Are you able to still get the panel? I could also search on line for it if I know who the designer and company it is from. I love your idea Elise. I am thinking you could sell the pattern, or as a kit…I will be your first customer..

Leave a Reply

