Something I love: Scrapbooking Edition

Scrapbooking was one of the first creative pursuits I ever tackled. I started in Junior High to document the mission trips I went on with my church and I’ve been hooked ever since. More than any other project, I think I enjoy the end result of making a scrapbook the most. I love having a book full of pictures AND written memories to re-live some of the highlights of my life.

I made this one as a gift for Zach when we had been dating for a year. It chronicles how we met, fell for each other, started dating, and the first year of our relationship. When I pulled it out yesterday to photograph, I re-read most of it and was surprised at how many of the details that I had forgotten- and being reminded of all those sweet moments makes me fall in love with him all over again.

(Oh, and the title is a spin off of a book that Zach’s parents made when he was 5 that recorded all the ridiculous and funny things that he said as a little kid.)

This book is the only one that I’ve made where the pages turn from the middle but I love how it turned out. It’s definitely one of the most unique books I’ve made. Also, I wanted to show you this page so that you know you don’t have to have a zillion pictures to scrapbook- writing out your memories counts too!

Scrapbooking is definitely a labor of love as it takes a long time. I’m still not done with our wedding book (we were married almost 4 years ago!) although I did finish putting all of our pictures from our reception into a book:

As much as I love making scrapbooks by hand, I’ve found that I am much much quicker when I use an online service to build, print, and design a book. I studied abroad in Spain in the summer of 2006. Last year, 5 years later, I finally decided that I was not going to get around to making a handmade scrapbook soon so I should compile my photos and memories into one place quickly. And I love having this book to look through and tell the story of time abroad! If I had waited longer, I probably would have forgotten even more than I already had.

I’ve also made scrapbooks similar to the one above as gifts for our parents that document our wedding. (So, at least they have books of our wedding even if I don’t yet! 🙂 ) Scrapbooking as a gift is, again, a huge labor of love. I created books for each of my younger siblings when they graduated from high school that are filled with pictures of us growing up and special memories that I have of us as kids. When my best friend got married,  I gave her a scrapbook that I had started in high school (originally intended to be her graduation gift… I was only 5 years late!). We’ve been friends since 1st grade and I spent 60 pages recounting our many memories together. These gifts definitely took a while, but they are some of my favorite things that I’ve ever made (I got to relive each memory as I put them together!) and I know they will always be cherished.

If you’ve never tried scrapbooking, I encourage you to do so. Start with an online service (I like Picaboo and MyPublisher). They let you download software to design your book for free and they do all the printing and binding and you get a beautiful book in the mail with minimal investment in tools or supplies. (Although, I pretty much only use adhesive, a paper cutter, and cardstock!) Plus, it’s closer to instant gratification to see if you like it! Having a place to record your story is so important. (At least, I think it is!) And having it in a format that is fun and easy to look at is awesome. And I bet you (and your kids if you have them/will have them ever) will enjoy pulling those books off the shelf from time to time for years to come. 🙂

This weekend, I’m taking a break from blogging and sewing and all of the other creative things happening in my basement currently and self-imposing a scrapbooking retreat to start on our wedding book. I’ll let you know on Monday how much I get accomplished!

Have a great weekend,

Elise

Tags: , ,

Categories: About Me

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “Something I love: Scrapbooking Edition”

  1. M. Bowen
    April 20, 2012 at 1:14 pm #

    Melanie here! I absolutely loved this piece, please email me–I have a question about your blog 🙂 MelanieLBowen[at]gmail[dot]com

Leave a Reply

