Blueberry Cobbler

Hello, I’m back! My self-imposed scrapbooking retreat resulted in 40+ pages of our wedding day, and all I have left to do is add my journaling. Looks like I will have it done by our anniversary (May 31st) after all! I finished the last page at 10:45 on Saturday night and it was a great feeling. Completing that book has been on my to-do list for nearly 4 years. ๐Ÿ™‚

Last night, we celebrated my brother-in-law’s birthday with dinner at their house which gave me a great excuse to make this cobbler. It is definitely the most requested dessert that I make and luckily for me, it’s also the easiest! I grew up with this recipe- as did my dad. I’m not exactly sure how far back in my family this recipe goes but I know we’ll keep it around for a long time to come- it’s one or our family favorites. And today, I’m going to share it with you. ย It’s super easy and I have yet to meet someone who doesn’t like it!

What you’ll need:

1 round baking dish (at least 1.5 qts but a 2 qt will fit easier)

1 stick butter

1 cup sugar

1 cup flour

2 tsp baking powder

3/4 cup milk

2 cups blueberries (fresh or frozen!)

That’s it! Just 6 ingredients!

Step 1: Unwrap your butter, throw it in your baking dish and melt the butter. (I just use the microwave!)

Step 2: Pour your dry ingredients into a bowl and stir together.

Step 3: Add your milk to the dry ingredients and mix until incorporated.

Step 4: Pour your batter into the baking dish with the butter. Do NOT stir. The butter will come up around the sides a little and that’s ok. Just pour all the batter in and leave it.

Step 5: Dump your blueberries on top. If they’re frozen, that’s fine! I don’t even worry about thawing them. Again, don’t stir.

Step 6: Bake in a 325 degree oven for close to 1 1/2 hours. It’s a long baking time but you can prep it in about 5 minutes! It’s done with the top is golden brown and has a rather stiff “crust”.

Step 7: Let it cool a little. (it will hold it’s heat for a long time so it’s a great dish to take to someone’s house!) Then spoon into bowls and serve with vanilla ice cream. Or, you can pour milk over it for a slightly lighter option. (My dad always eats it that way! And I’ll pour milk on any leftovers the next morning so that I can tell myself it’s breakfast. ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) This cobbler makes about 6 portions and is pretty rich so you can even go with smaller ones if you want some leftovers. It reheats in the microwave well too.

Unfortunately, we ate all of ours last night… now I want to make it again after looking at the pictures and writing about it! Good thing I have more blueberries in the freezer. ๐Ÿ™‚

Enjoy!

Elise

 

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Recipe

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Blueberry Cobbler”

  1. VickiT
    February 27, 2012 at 5:26 pm #

    Oh that looks SO good. And lucky for me we bought a huge case of Blueberries from MI when they were in season so I have tons in the freezer. Thank you.

    • February 27, 2012 at 6:18 pm #

      I try to pick a bunch every summer to freeze so that I can always make this! I even measure my berries into 2 cup increments for freezing to make it that much easier. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. February 29, 2012 at 12:26 pm #

    I love blueberries! This looks delicious… Thanks so much for sharing at Mix it up Monday ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. March 2, 2012 at 7:52 pm #

    We love this and also make it with peaches, or cherries. I double the recipe and make it in a large lasagna pan and serve it along side vanilla ice cream for our bible study with 14 people. I bring two and they are GONE at the end of the night. Amazing recipe. Thanks for posting…now my mouth is watering!

Leave a Reply

