Something I love: Gardening Edition

This unseasonably warm weather has Zach and I starting to think about our garden. This will be our third attempt at growing food in our backyard (and at making our flower beds look presentable at the very least!) so we are definitely still beginners. But, we are ambitious beginners and he is especially fearless when it comes to just trying something new. We do not have a large yard, so we use garden boxes for most of our vegetable growing and we crammed a LOT in last year!

Last year we grew: 4 varieties of peppers, 3 types of tomatoes, 2 different kinds of basil, green beans, zucchini, cucumbers, butternut squash, 2 kinds of potatoes, 3 kinds of eggplant, started some asparagus, grew a few heads of lettuce and kale and had an assorted herb bed. We also failed miserably with an attempt to do yellow summer squash, watermelon, and carrots. Oh, and we had some turnips. I think we’re going to be a little more conservative this year!

We don’t know a whole lot about gardening- and have taken the approach of learning by experimenting, which has mostly been met with success. Zach really enjoys the pruning process and while I pretty much detest weeding, I’m willing to do it because harvesting is awesome.

In late summer last year, this was one of 2 baskets of tomatoes that I picked in one evening. They were eaten fresh, turned into homemade salsa, and frozen so that we could enjoy tomato sauce this winter (which we have done several times!). For me, it’s extremely satisfying to be able to pick and enjoy food fresh out of our yard and I know that many other gardeners feel the same way. It is a lot of work, but the more I do it, the more I love it. And I’m really looking forward to more of these this summer:

Oh, and I’m looking forward to these too:

I love being able to enjoy fresh flowers blooming around and inside our house! I had a horticulture teacher in college who described the moment she fell in love with flowers- she was 5 and she saw a daffodil in the spring for the first time and has been hooked ever since. I can’t name the exact moment I fell in love with flowers but there are few things that make me feel as happy.

I’m anxious for spring to come so that I can get out and plant this year’s garden. In the meantime, I’ll settle for decorating inside with flowers that I can make myself. Come back tomorrow and I’ll teach you how to make some for your home too. 🙂

Happy Leap Day,

Elise

 

Tags: , , ,

Categories: About Me

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

5 Comments on “Something I love: Gardening Edition”

  1. February 29, 2012 at 7:41 pm #

    I love your garden boxes. And all your plants look so lush and healthy. It’s no wonder you had such a great harvest! Keep up the good work!

  2. February 29, 2012 at 8:42 pm #

    Very pretty photos…and I love the tomatoes =)

  3. February 29, 2012 at 8:50 pm #

    Last year’s veggie boxes look wonderful; it is amazing how much one can grow in a small space. I’m dying for a real tomato.

    A suggestion (since you say you’re new to gardening) – rotate the food crops every year to keep soil pests and pathogens in check. With your lovely boxes it should be easy to keep track of a long term plan. Happy gardening!

    • March 1, 2012 at 11:35 am #

      Thanks for the tip! I did write down where everything was last year so that we can do something different this year.

  4. March 2, 2012 at 7:48 pm #

    makes me want to try this…

Leave a Reply

