DIY Gathered Camera Strap Cover

I love to take pictures. I’m definitely not the best photographer- but I’m learning and I practice by taking lots and lots of pictures. I love capturing our memories in photo form (and then later being able to scrapbook them!) and almost always have my camera with me.

When I bought my “big” camera about a year ago, I quickly learned how uncomfortable wearing it around my neck could get. Knowing that we were headed toward a week in Florida with my sister that included a day at Disney World, I made myself a camera strap cover.  I’ve seen lots of these on the internet but today, I’ll show you how I make mine. It’s got a little bit of padding in it to make if more comfy around your neck AND it’s washable so after a long, hot day wearing your camera, you can remove the cover and wash it before wearing again. It also helps identify your camera (especially helpful in my family as my dad has the exact same model!) and it looks cute too. 😉

(And if you don’t feel like making one for yourself, check out my newly updated Etsy shop. I just listed a bunch in there!)

***Note: I’ve gotten this question before and want to make it clear. This tutorial is for a camera strap cover and should go over your existing DSLR neck strap- not replace it! Ok, let’s make one!

Here’s what you’ll need:

*Front fabric (the gathered part): Cut a strip 3 1/4″ wide by the width of the fabric

*Backing: Cut a strip 2 3/4″ wide by 27″ long

*Gathered Base: (this can be the same fabric as your backing… in this tutorial, it’s the white fabric as I wanted a bright white to back the white floral fabric) Cut a strip 2 3/4″ by 27″ long

*Fusible Fleece: Cut a piece 5″ wide by 27″ long (You can find this at Hobby Lobby, JoAnns, even some Walmarts with fabric sections)

Tools used: Sewing machine, iron, rotary cutter, cutting mat, quilter’s ruler

Step 1: Cut and press all of your fabric. Cut out your fusible fleece.

Step 2: Sew a long, gathering stitch about 1/8″ from each of the long edges. Do NOT backstitch and make sure you leave yourself long thread tails on both ends of your seam.

Step 3: Pull gently on both of the bobbin (bottom) threads and gather your strip of fabric. I try to keep the gathers going pretty straight… basically, gather both sides evenly and distribute them evenly along the length of your fabric. You want to gather until it is 27″ long.

Step 4: Press your gathered strip- mashing down the gathers and then pin to your “Gathered Base” piece.

Step 5: Using a 1/8″ seam allowance, sew down the edges of your Gathered Base piece, attaching the gathered front fabric. Make sure that you’re catching all of the gathers!

Step 6: Trim the excess gathered fabric so that you have a nice, straight 2 3/4″ wide strip with the gathers on the top and flat base material on the bottom. Then, place your backing fabric right sides together with the gathers and pin down one long edge.

Step 7: Using a 1/4″ seam allowance, sew down one long side, attaching the backing and the front gathered piece. Then press your seam toward the backing and, following the manufacturer’s instructions, adhere the fusible fleece to the wrong side of the strap cover.

Step 8: Once your fusible fleece is adhered, you’re going to turn under 1/2″ of each short end and sew it down. (I use 2 lines spaced about 1/4″ apart because I like the way it looks.) Make sure you hem both short ends.

Step 9: Now, fold your strap back in half, with right sides together, and sew down the long edge using a 1/4″ seam. Now you’ve made a long tube. The hardest part is turning it right side out, but once you do that, press it flat one more time and then it’s ready to slide onto your existing strap or wrap up and give as a gift. 🙂

Optional Step 10: Attach a fabric flower pin to the front of the strap for added decoration.

Thanks for reading along! The Friday Giveaway will be up soon!

-Elise

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: About Me, Tutorials

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “DIY Gathered Camera Strap Cover”

  1. knudsens
    March 9, 2012 at 11:38 am #

    Great. I like DIY.

  2. March 9, 2012 at 11:41 am #

    Great job..

    • March 9, 2012 at 12:03 pm #

      Thanks! They’re pretty fast to make and are great for gifts!

Leave a Reply

