Fabric Flower Bouquet (Pt. 4)

Welcome to Part 4 of my Fabric Flower Bouquet series! If you’re just joining us, you can check out the first three installments here:

Part 1: Rosettes

Part 2: Poms

Part 3: Ruffled Roses

Today, we’re going to put all of our flowers together into a cute bouquet- ready for a bride or bridesmaid to carry down the aisle or to stick in a vase for some fun spring decor that won’t wilt!

Here’s what you’ll need:

*All of your flowers that you want to use

*Floral tape (you can find this at craft supplies stores, Walmart, or even some Dollar stores carry it!)

*Tulle- this is optional!

*Ribbon to match your bouquet’s colors

*Scissors

Ready to get started?

Step 1: Grab your floral tape and a flower. I like to wrap the top couple inches of the stem with the tape to a. make sure it doesn’t un-twist and b. because it makes the stems a little sticky and easier to work with as you arrange them. Repeat for all of your stems.

Step 2: Once all of your stems are wrapped, it’s time to begin arranging! (This is my favorite part!) I like to start with my biggest flowers first. In this case, the pom flowers. I was working with 4 so I started with 3 in a triangle shape and then put the 4th in the middle of them.

Step 3: Then, I grabbed my ruffled roses, the 2nd biggest flowers, and inserted them between the poms. Pay attention to your color placement as you want your bouquet to be visually balanced. I tried to alternate between the purple and yellow, light and dark, etc. The great thing about working with fabric flowers is that you can mess with them/ bend the stems as much as you want without risking killing the flower!

Step 4: Now, add in your rolled rosettes. They are the smallest and flatest of the flowers so make sure they don’t get lost down in the bouquet. I use them to fill in some gaps and round out the bouquet’s shape.

Step 5: Once you’re happy with your bouquet’s shape, turn it upside down and without letting go, use your free hand to start tightly wrapping your stems together with the floral tape. Make sure you get really high up under there and work your way down as far as you want. You want to make sure that your arrangement is not going to fall apart!

Step 6: If you want to add some tulle to the under side of your bouquet, now’s the time to do it. I grabbed a long piece of shiny white tulle and basically tied a large bow underneath the blooms, leaving 2 tails to hang down the sides. Then, I tied a piece of ribbon around it to make sure it was really secure.

You could also wrap your stems in ribbon if you wanted to!

Step 7: Place your bouquet in a vase or an up-cycled soda bottle (like we did for my sister-in-law’s wedding) and you’re done! Congrats! 🙂

I hope you’ve had fun following along and learning how to make these unique and cost-effective bouquets. Let me know if you make one for yourself- I’d love to see the pictures!

-Elise

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Tutorials

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Fabric Flower Bouquet (Pt. 4)”

  1. March 13, 2012 at 3:15 pm #

    Super sweet project! Thanks for sharing.
    xoxo
    Mandy
    http://littlemaison.com

  2. March 18, 2012 at 11:04 am #

    This is soooo gorgeous. I am following along. Would be great if you would link this up to the gift section of my month long link-up.

    http://craftbotics.blogspot.com

    Rosie x

  3. March 25, 2012 at 9:47 am #

    I love this! Especially the poms! I am wondering if I can put some poms together to make a topiary? I’ll let you know if I do. Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

