Something I love: Reading Edition

I love to read. When I was a kid, my parents used to have to make me go outside to play on nice days… I’d take my book and sit and read. My siblings would get really annoyed with me because they could come up to me while I was reading, tell me something- I’d respond- and then have no recollection of the interaction.

I don’t remember the first book that I ever read but I do remember the first chapter book. It was the first Boxcar Children book. I was in first grade and was jealous that my best friend got to read chapter books during our class’s reading time. My mom assured me that she was sure I could do it too so, right before bed, she handed me the hardcover book and I read the first page aloud by myself. I still remember how excited and proud I felt as I tried to fall asleep that night.

A whole new world had opened for me. From that point on, I read everything I could get my hands on. Some of my favorites were, (in no particular order!) the Redwall series by Brian Jacques, The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle and Beyond the Western Sea– both by Avi, and of course, Harry Potter. In high school, I discovered Tolkien and The Lord of the Rings and 2 of my current favorites are The Book Thief by Markus Zusak and The Selected Works of T.S. Spivet by Reif Larson.

I love that my husband is an avid reader too… someday, we want to have a room that looks something like this:

(From House Beautiful)

Or maybe something like this:

(Found on Elizabeth Ann Designs)

But, in the meantime, we’ll stick with our library cards and the few bookshelves we DO have!

Tell me, do you love to read? If you do, got any suggestions? I’d love something new to check out!

-Elise

Tags: , , ,

Categories: About Me

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Something I love: Reading Edition”

  1. March 14, 2012 at 10:18 pm #

    I read somewhere that the best redecorating style is “more bookcases.”

Leave a Reply

