Anthropologie Inspired Flower Pillow- A Tutorial

*Note: this tutorial was originally published by me last summer. When I revived and revamped my blog this January, I kept this post because I love this project and thought it was worth keeping and re-publishing so you can all enjoy it too!

I love Anthropologie… but can’t afford anything there. I’ve loved this pillow ever since I first saw it a few months ago but instead of spending $88, I thought that’d I try to make my own.

Then, when I started to sketch out petals today, I decided that copying that pattern was going to take way longer than I had to work on a pillow. So, I simplified and made a bunch of the same, daisy shaped petal instead and ended up with this: 

It’s not exactly Anthro, but it was easier and I’m still really happy with how it turned out.

To make one of your own, you will need:

*1/2 yard of 44″ wide cotton or home decor weight fabric. I used a Kona cotton in charcoal grey that I found at Hobby Lobby.

*Scraps of fabric that are about 2″x3″ big for your petals and a slightly bigger one for the center circle.

*Fusible Webbing… I used this:

This stuff is sticky on both sides and will bond fabric when ironed together. It comes with peel off paper on both sides, making it really easy to use.

You will also need:

*thread

*a sewing machine (or you could do it by hand, it would just take longer!)

*an iron

*a marker or pen

*some straight pins

*Something to measure and cut your fabric. I use a rotary cutter with a mat and a clear plastic quilt ruler but if you don’t have those things, you could use a ruler, pencil and a good pair of scissors (again, it will take longer and not be as precise but it will still work!)

*Note: These measurements and instructions will result in a pillow case that will fit a 16″x16″ square pillow form.

Ok, now we can get started.

Step 1: Cut a square that is 17″ x17″ from your main cotton fabric. This will be the front of your pillow.

Step 2: Cut 2 rectangles from the main cotton fabric. One should be 17″x10″ and the other should be 17″x14″

Step 3: Take a sheet of your fusible webbing and freehand draw, or trace off of a pattern, the petal shape that you want to use.

I drew one petal and cut it out of cardstock before tracing it a bunch of times onto the sheet. To make the pillow pictured, I used 32 petals. You will also need to trace or draw a circle for the center of your flower. For reference, my circle is about 2″ in diameter and my leaves are about 2.5″ long and 1.5″ wide.

Step 4: Now you will need to cut out all the leaves and the circle you just drew on the paper. Cut through all three layers, the paper and the fusible stuff in between. When you’re done, you’ll end up with this:

Step 5: Now, you will carefully peel off ONE of the pieces of paper. I peeled off the side that I drew on.

Step 6: Place your petal fabric pieces or scraps onto your ironing board with the pretty side DOWN.

Step 7: Place a few of your petals with the STICKY SIDE DOWN on top of the fabric.

Step 8: Place a hot iron firmly down on top of the petals and hold for 6-10 seconds. (Or, follow whatever directions are on your package of webbing!) Don’t move the iron around, just place it, hold it and then lift. The paper petal should now be stuck to the fabric.

Step 9: Repeat with all of your paper petals and circle center, ironing them onto all of the different fabrics you’re using.

Step 10: Cut out all of your petals from the fabric.

Step 11: Now, you will carefully peel the remaining paper piece off of each petal.

Step 12: Lay your 17″ square of fabric down flat and arrange your petals around the center circle until you are happy with their arrangement. The pieces will stick a little but that’s ok. It actually makes your job easier… they will stay where you want them but you can pick them up and move them if you need to too.

I started with the first ring around the center circle and then filled in from there.

Step 13: Now carefully carry your pillow front over to your ironing board. Lay it flat and cover with a press cloth. (Any piece of cotton that if it gets anything sticky on it, it will be ok. Again, using your hot iron, press and hold the iron over each part of the pillow. While moving your iron make sure to pick it up and move it, sliding it could cause your petals to shift. Once you’ve covered all of it, the petals should all be stuck down to the background fabric.

Step 14: Now it’s time to sew down all of your pieces. If you have a fancier sewing machine than I do, you can use a zig zag stitch or blanket binding/hem stitch. OR, you could sew it on by hand, but I didn’t have that kind of time today. So, I put it in my sewing machine and put my presser foot near the edge of the fabric.

Step 15: Take a couple of stitches backwards and then sew carefully and slowly around the edge of each shape backstitching a few stitches at the beginning and end of the seam around the petal.

I used orange thread for all of the orange pieces and aqua thread for all of the other pieces.

Step 16: Now trim all of your threads carefully.

Now your pillow should be done:

Step 17: Now it’s time to work on the back of the pillow case. Take your 2 smaller pieces of background fabric over to your ironing board and fold over 1/2″ along the long side of rectangle and press it down.

Step 18: Turn the edge down one more time and press. This will keep the raw edges encased and prevent them from fraying.

Step 19: Lay the larger back piece on top of the front, with the folded side up, lining up the edges.

Step 20: Pin the backing down.

Step 21: Now pin the smaller piece down, overlapping the larger piece.

Step 22: Using a 1/2″ seam allowance, sew all the way around the edge of the pillow.

Step 23: When you reach the corner, make sure the needle is down, lift up the presser foot, and pivot your fabric by 90 degrees. Lower your presser foot and keep sewing!

Step 24: Sew over the area where the flaps overlap for added strength.

Step 25: To finish your seams, you can zig zag stitch all the way around the pillow in the seam allowance, serge your edges, or trim the edges with pinking shears. You’ll also want to trim your corners so that they turn out nicely.

Step 26: Turn your pillow case right side out, press flat and stuff your 16″ pillow form inside.

Step 27: Enjoy your beautiful new pillow! (And if you do make one, send me a picture! I’d love to see it.)

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Gift Ideas, Tutorials

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

8 Comments on “Anthropologie Inspired Flower Pillow- A Tutorial”

  1. Beth Bernard
    July 14, 2011 at 3:07 am #

    this is SO cute! you should sell these also!

  2. Nicole
    July 17, 2011 at 11:03 pm #

    So beautiful! You did a great job!

  3. July 18, 2011 at 7:56 am #

    This is absolutely adorable! I love the fabrics that you used for the flower. You did such a great job.

    • July 18, 2011 at 11:42 am #

      Thank you so much! It was fun… and even my husband likes it!

  4. Chris
    July 19, 2011 at 11:15 am #

    I like it! And your directions were very clear. It is so nice to have the pictures to go along with the written directions for us visual learners

    • Aunt Lynn
      July 20, 2011 at 3:23 am #

      I think that even I could do this with your wonderful directions!

  5. July 22, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

    Elise I really love your pillow! I think you did a great job on it and your tutorial was fabulous!!! I’m so impressed that it was your first!
    I featured you today in my Crush of the Week post! http://www.flamingotoes.com/2011/07/crush-of-the-week-think-pink-features-15/

Leave a Reply

