Easter Coffee Cake

I am now officially on Spring Break! I’ve been so ready for a break and yesterday it was fun to get a lot of cleaning and laundry and crafting stuff done. Today, we’re in Easter preparation- we had an awesome family breakfast at Zach’s grandparents’ house this morning and now I’m baking a coffee cake to take to church tomorrow for our potluck brunch.

This cake is a family tradition and we had it every Easter morning growing up. And today, I’ll share the recipe with you. It’s quick, easy and really delicious. 🙂

Here’s what you’ll need:

1 cup softened butter                                                   1/2 tsp. vanilla

2 cups white sugar                                                         2 cups flour

2 eggs                                                                                  1 tsp. baking powder

1 cup sour cream                                                           1/4 tsp. salt

Topping:

2 tsp. brown sugar                                                        1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 c. chopped pecans

Step 1: Cream butter, sugar and eggs in the mixer until they’re fluffy. Then, mix in the sour cream.

Step 2: Fold in vanilla, flour, baking powder, and salt.

Step 3: Grease and flour an angel food cake pan or a bundt pan.

Step 4: Add half the batter into the bundt pan. You’ll have to spoon it in and spread it around evenly.

Step 5: Mix the topping ingredients together. Then, sprinkle it evenly around on top of the batter. Add the rest of the batter on top of that and then bake at 350 degrees for 50-60 minutes.

Watch it carefully the last 10 minutes or so. It can over bake easily. Allow to cool in the pan for a while before turning it out onto a serving platter. Slice into pieces and enjoy! (It’s really good with coffee!)

Have a blessed, joy-filled Easter-

Elise

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Recipe

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “Easter Coffee Cake”

  1. VickiT
    April 7, 2012 at 1:10 pm #

    I may have to try this one. Thank you. I just made this very same type coffee cake type recipe yesterday but the recipe I’d found started with a box mix and then used the same ingredients you have used; the sour cream, brown sugar, cinnamon etc. And after it came out of the oven there is a glaze to pour over the top too.

    The recipe I used boasted that it tasted just like a cinnamon roll but both hubby and I thought it tasted more like cake. Almost every time I’ve used a recipe starting with a box cake mix I get the same results. Good, but not THAT good, ya know. I should know better since I have always been a ‘bake from scratch’ type of girl so I’m going to try yours instead. I’m sure we’ll like it much more. Thanks again.

    • April 7, 2012 at 3:50 pm #

      I’d be interested in hearing your thoughts on how they compare if you make one! 🙂

      • VickiT
        April 7, 2012 at 7:17 pm #

        I am pretty sure this one will be better, hands down although my husband seems to like the one I made. He isn’t normally a ‘sweets’ type person but he’s grabbing a piece or two of this one frequently. LOL I’ll have to try this one soon though. Like I said, I am normally a ‘from scratch’ baker for almost everything, except I tend to use box cake mixes when making cakes most of the time. I happened to have a bunch in the house right now because I was going to make this awesome ‘cake/thing’ back on Thanksgiving and didn’t so then I tried for Christmas and didn’t then either. Of course, the ONE cake mix I was out of? Yea, the yellow one the recipe I used called for. All I had left was chocolate which was not going to work at all. lol

        I’ll try to remember to let you know.

Leave a Reply

