Reversible Bunting Banner Tutorial

Happy Tuesday! I am in the last week before a craft show… crunch time! I’m surprisingly feeling ahead of the game- which is good because I’m no longer on spring break. 😦  Anyway, I thought I’d take a break and share this tutorial for a bunting banner that I made last summer. I use it to decorate my craft booth at shows and my mantle at home. I hope this inspires you to keep creating! I’ll share some photos of what I’m working on for the show as well as a few tips I’ve picked up in my limited experience later this week. 🙂

You will need:

-One package (3yds) of Double Fold Bias Tape (Mine is brown and I bought it in the craft section at Walmart although you can find it at Hobby Lobby or JoAnn’s too)

-34-36, 6-inch squares of coordinating fabric (34 squares will make 17 pennants,  36 will make 18- decide if you like even or odd better!)

-Sewing machine, cutting mat with rotary cutter and ruler, or pencil and good fabric scissors

-An iron

-Straight pins and something to turn out your corners (like a chopstick or knitting needle) will be helpful too!

Step 1: Cut 6-inch squares out of your fabric.

Step 2: Fold one square in half, placing the folded edge to the left. Then you will line  up the ruler from corner to corner, making sure that the folded edge is underneath the ruler.

Step 3: Cut along the diagonal line.

Step 4: Unfold the triangle to get a shape like this:

Step 5: Repeat with remaining squares.

Step 6: Select two different triangles and pin them with right (pretty) sides together.

Step 7: Sew a 1/4″ seam allowance along the 2 long sides of the triangle, pivoting at the corner.

Step 8: Trim off some of the extra fabric on that bottom corner. It will help the triangle to be more pointy when you turn it right side out.

Step 9: Turn your triangles right side out and gently poke out the bottom point. I use a chopstick because it isn’t sharp and unlike a pencil, will not leave marks on my fabric. Once it is turned, iron it flat. It will now look like this:

Step 10: Repeat with all remaining triangles.

Step 11: Lay out your triangles in a line. I didn’t have a specific pattern, I just made sure that no two were the same next to each other and that the different colors were evenly spaced out.

Step 12: Now it’s time to attach the pennants to the bias tape. I ironed my tape first as it was creased coming out of the package. Then I marked the middle of the tape and worked from the middle outwards. The double fold bias tape will allow you slide the unfinished top of the pennants in between the 2 folds like this:

Now both sides of your reversible banner will have nice, finished edges.

Step 13: Pin all of your triangles in between the two sides of  the bias tape. The very top corners will overlap a little but it’s ok as it will be hidden by the tape. You want the part of the triangle that is showing to meet a point rather than have gaps between each one.

Step 14: Now, you will sew all the way along the edge of your bias tape, sandwiching the pennants in between. I went along the “bottom” edge of the tape and make sure that you take your pins out as you go! I would also recommend using a thread that disappears into the bias tape, unless you want the stitching to show up.

Once you get to the end, you’re done! Hang it from tacks, hooks, or even tape and enjoy! (I couldn’t wait for a craft show so I hung mine on my mantle today… also, I apologize for the quality of the picture. We are having a very overcast day and there is very little light in the living room!)

I think I’ll leave it up there for a while- it looks very festive!

-Elise

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Tutorials

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “Reversible Bunting Banner Tutorial”

  1. Melissa
    June 29, 2012 at 9:51 am #

    Thank you! What a cute idea–and I dig your sewing machine. From the little bit I could see, it looks just like mine–is it a Singer 99?

Leave a Reply

